2009 Awards and Announcements CFDA Scholarship Awards

Three School of Fashion students selected as 2009 Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Design Scholarship Winners

The CFDA has long been devoted to supporting and nurturing new and emerging design talent. Their Educational Initiatives were established to assist aspiring designers in the high school, collegiate, post-graduate, and early stages of their careers.

This year, three School of Fashion students were awarded scholarships.

Yunqi Wu, BFA Fashion Design, was awarded $10,000
Arianna Isabel Perez, BFA Knitwear Design, was awarded $5,000
Anette Hyseth, BFA Fashion Design, received an honorable mention.

Last year, Ghazaleh Khalifeh, BFA Fashion Design, received the grand prize of the prestigious $25,000 Geoffrey Beene Design Scholarship Award. In addition, she received the University’s French Exchange Scholarship to attend Ecole de la Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne for the FA ’08 / SP ’09 school year.

The CFDA flew Ghazaleh to New York to attend the CFDA Fashion Awards Gala in June 2008 where she was introduced to the fashion industry on stage with such fashion luminaries as Carolina Herrera, Peter Som, and CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg.

Also in 2008, three additional students from the School of Fashion were recognized. Yun-Chieh Chang received a $10, 000 CFDA Scholarship. Jaedoo Shim received the $10,000 Clara Hancox Scholarship Award for Menswear Design.  Ashleigh Tucker received an honorable mention.

This national competition is one of the most competitive in the U.S.